Welcome to the Adventure Racing Ireland National Solo Adventure Race Series 2023

Things to know

  1. The 2023 NARS will contain 2 categories: ‘Sport’ and ‘Expert’
    1. Each category will consist of 9 and 10 races respectively, of which a racers any best 5 race results will count towards final total
    2. The 9 races in each category are:
      1. Expert:
        1. Quest Kenmare
        2. Quest Glendalough
        3. Dingle Adventure Race
        4. Gaelforce West
        5. Quest Lough Derg
        6. FEARmanagh
        7. SCAR
        8. Quest Killarney
        9. Sea2summit (TBC)
      2. Sport
        1. Quest Kenmare
        2. Quest Glendalough
        3. Waar
        4. Dingle Adventure Race
        5. Race2Glory
        6. Quest Lough Derg
        7. FEARmanagh
        8. SCAR
        9. Quest Killarney
        10. Sea2summit (TBC)
  1. NARS does not have any input in to the organization or operation of any of the qualifying events in the series. This includes but isn’t limited to the course design, the entry process, the race structure, race location, race rules or any other decisions that an event organizer may make. Races in the NARS will be reviewed at the end of each year and assessed for eligibility and suitability for the upcoming year
  1. Points will be awarded based on the FINAL published results from each race:
    1. These are the official final results as provided by the race director and official race timing partner
    2. NARS does not have any input in to these and tables will not be published until final official results are available
    3. Note that official final results may not be the same as position crossing the finish line. Wave starts will be factored in to final official results and points awarded will reflect the final results list
    4. Separate points will be awarded for both women’s and men’s category in each race
      1. 100 points for 1st place, 99 points for 2nd place, 98 for 3rd place etc…
  1. You do not need to be a member of any club to be eligible for NARS or to be awarded points
  2. You do not need to register to participate in NARS or be awarded points
  3. If you finish in the top 100 (of your gender) in any qualifying race (see race list) then you will be automatically added to the NARS points table
  4. The only information on any racer NARS has any access to or uses is the data available from the race results which is publicly available on the race website
  5. Prizes will be awarded to the top 3 Women and Men in both the Expert and Sport category with the racer in first place in each category being names ‘National Adventure Race Series Champion’
  6. In the event of a tie for first place and overall National Series Champion the following tie breaks will be initiated and they will be initiated in the following order
    • Of the racers tied for 1st place – whoever has the most race ‘wins’
    • Of the racers tied for 1st place – whoever has the most points in head-to-head events
      • This means events where the tied racers participated in same race
      • This means ‘started a race’ – a DNF counts as 0 points in this situation
  • Of the racers tied for 1st place – Lowest cumulative head-to-head time
    • Example: the tied racers competed head to head in 2 events. Their overall time for the 2 events is added up and the lowest cumulative time determines the winner
  • In the event that racers are still tied for 1st place there will be joint 1st place
  1. In the event of a tie for 2nd and 3rd place the same process will be followed as 9. above
  2. There will be no criteria or resolution applied to any ties outside of top 3 in each category
  1. Points Tables
  • Tables will be published after the Final Official results are available from each event
  • Tables will be published on the MSAI.ie website and will also be published by Kayathlon.ie